Poland was Cool

Hey!

In case you forgot about me, I’m back! I had mentioned in one of my last posts that I was planning on updating more often, unfortunately things got very busy and I put off writing this for far too long. I’m sorry about that. But, I do have lots of fun things to talk about now, so buckle up cause it has been a crazy three weeks!

We finished off our time in Ukraine by going on a trip to some old abandoned houses in a village very close to Moldova. It was a ton of fun to get hang out as a team with no distractions and explore the area. We also hung out with some kids at a village near where we stayed and we stopped at a Monestary on our way home which was also really cool. Overall Ukraine was an incredible experience, and the work we got to take part in definitely changed my heart in many ways.

On May 1st, we flew to Poland. We got in at about 4am, slept for a few hours, and then started our volunteer work at Zoom Conference. Our team helped out with security, kids programs and cleaning for the three day conference in Warsaw. It was nice because we also got to sit in on the sessions and go to workshops with really good speakers.

As soon as we finished with Zoom Conference, we started with our next work which was running kids programs at the Heidi Baker Conference. My teammate Maddie and I took lead in planning it. We had a group of about 20 kids that spoke mainly Polish that we looked after for about six hours for two days. It was a but challenging with the language barrier, but we had tons of fun. It was loud, sweaty, and exhausting, but I really enjoyed getting to have that opportunity. We got to sit in on the sessions at this conference as well. It was a very new experience for me, a more charismatic style of worship you could say. It was an incredible experience though. Hearing stories from Heidi was very inspiring. I also had some really cool revelations from God which really helped me to better understand what I had been experiencing in my personal walk with Jesus.

After a week of busyness, we got a day off to explore Warsaw. We mainly spent time touring around the Old Town, which is incredibly beautiful. Overall, we found Poland to be incredibly clean and friendly, I would love to go back again one day. We also got the chance to go to the Uprising Museum for a short visit. Unfortunately there didn’t seem to be enough time to really look through and read all that there was to offer, but it was by far one of the best museums that I have ever been too. As I mentioned last time, it has been really exciting to visit these places that I learned so much about in school.

We then headed to a beautiful little village called Namyslov for about two weeks. We stayed at a church there and worked along side their ministry. Mainly our days were spent teaching English in different schools around the town. (We visited so many that it got to the point that we couldn’t walk around town without seeing about 5 people that we recognized.) In the afternoon we would hang out in the town square with some teenagers that we met and build relationships with them. It was so great to have the consistency that we did, it really felt like we were able to connect with the people we were meeting. We also had the opportunity to put on the church service on Sunday. Our team lead worship, performed the “Everything” skit and one of our leaders delivered the message. Another super fun experience, it has been so great seeing how well our team works together. On our last day in the village, we went to the square for some Evangelism time. We had invited some of our friends from the schools we had visited, and some people from the church joined us as well. We had worship, performed the “Everything” skit again and one of my team mates shared about God’s love. It was such a powerful experience, I never would have imagined myself doing something like that, but it was amazing. Many of the people watching ended up in tears, and it really felt like we were able to break down a lot of walls. Afterwards we talked with people, prayed for them and handed out Bibles. It was honest indescribable. I see so much potential for all the people in that village and I know that God is definitely working there. It was such such a blessing you be able to serve in that community.

We took the train back to Warsaw on Friday, it was my first time travelling by train so that was neat. We spent the day in Warsaw yesterday, mostly just shopping and resting. Today we flew to Toulouse in France, and now I am waiting at the train station for our bus to Biarritz tonight. We spend one night in Biarritz, drop off excess things and then head out for the El Camino for two weeks! Our team is splitting in two groups, mine is taking the Camino De Francis route from Pamplona. I’m so excited for what’s to come! Our main focus will be evangelism, so I’m praying for many opportunities to meet people. I don’t know what my WiFi will be like, so my next update will probably come once I’m back in France, but please keep us in your prayers.

Some other exciting news is that I got a job coaching soccer camps with Athletes in Action for the summer! This is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, so I couldn’t pass up the opportunity, even if it meant being away from home all summer. One of my responsibilities with this position is to raise $1000 in order to cover training costs, as well and keep the cost of camps low for churches and families. If you’re interested in supporting me, please check out this link. It would mean a lot to me. Athletes in Action is an incredible organization that uses sport to share the gospel with kids and teens across the country. I’m so excited for what’s in store this summer.

Thanks for checking back! I hope I did a good job covering all that I have been up to, it has been very busy. If you have any questions, feel free to message me on Facebook, I’d love to talk. I think that’s all for now! Be back with an update post Camino! 🙂

Prayer Requests

  • Health/safety on the Camino
  • Evangelism opportunities
  • Finances for Soccer camps

 

 

In Christ,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

